The Disney Movie Rewatch

In any art form, one of the easiest ways to improve is by participation. If you’re a novelist, read lots of books. If you’re a musician, listen to lots of music. If you’re a theater actor, go to lots of plays. If you’re a filmmaker, watch lots of movies.

I mean, come on, isn’t it the best thing ever to be like, “No, I have to watch this movie. Because it’s part of my job”? (Yes, it is. And, FYI, a good tax preparer can figure out how to deduct it.)

On a normal basis, I watch a lot of movies. I watch them for fun; I watch them critically. But, when I’m working on a project, I search out movies that I can draw inspiration from. For example, in prep for my web series, The Adventures of Keith Flippen, I queued up Jason of Star Command on Netflix, dusted off my DVD of Galaxy Quest, and watched various episodes of Flash Gordon on youtube. I used them as reference. These are the images people conjure when something is described as “retro sci-fi.” These are my predecessors. I need to watch what they did, understand why it worked so well, or failed, and how I can add to it, and do it my way.

So naturally, when we decided to aim for a “Disney” adaptation, that conjures a very distinctive image. There are staples and troupes specific to Disney. Disney movies are often placed at a very high standard. To understand them, it means, re-watching the best (and maybe some of the worst) of Disney.

Of course, re-watching every movie Disney ever released isn’t really practical. And since we’ve acknowledged we want to focus specifically on their animated features, we can narrow it down even more. Our top choices (and some that are readily available) for rewatch,  in no particular order, are as follows:

  1. The Little Mermaid
  2. Tangled
  3. The Lion King
  4. Aladdin
  5. Frozen
  6. Beauty and the Beast
  7. Mulan
  8. The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  9. Hercules
  10. Tarzan
  11. Snow White
  12. Lilo and Stitch
  13. The Emperor’s New Groove

Movies re-watched.

Movies that were more complicated than initially thought, and we feel need another re-watch.

This list will probably be added to as we narrow down what kind of movie we want to write. So, what do you think of our choices? Are there some important movies we’re missing? Leave a comment and let us know!

2 thoughts on “The Disney Movie Rewatch

  1. Lilo and Stich is not a revamp of something that has already been written. And one of my favorites. It’s a contemporary story of family. Family is not perfect nor does it mean, mom, dad, and kids. Loved the characterization and wit. I can see why this didn’t fit. Mulan is more historical hero, Hercules kind of is too. Hunchback is literary-book adaptation. It was actually one of my least favorites.

    BTW – I am so excited about your project.

    1. It’s not so much that Lilo and Stitch isn’t an adaptation, as it is a unusually structured movie. It doesn’t follow a typical movie model, and yet, it was highly successful. And because it doesn’t follow the typical movie model, it makes it harder to analyze. Therefore, I need to watch it again.

      And I’m happy your excited about our project! We are too.

Leave a Reply

