Once Upon a Time, We Decided We Should Write a Disney Movie

It started with a tipsy text message across the country discussing why Frozen wasn’t a great movie. It’s a good movie, don’t get me wrong, but it felt…off. It made decisions out of fear, out of producers, out of monetary demand, out of standard Hollywood pacing – and that made me angry.

So in my text message, I said, We should write our own Disney movie, and do it right. And my reply was, “Yes.” As so, once upon a cold Sunday evening in January, we decided to write the next big Disney fairy tale movie.

I’m Shannon. I live in New Orleans and made a web series. I do know a little about movies, but mostly I make it up and just sound authoritative about it.

Johnathan is my cohort. He’s doing graduate school out in California where he is studying computer stuff that goes way over my head. He’s an awesome guy, who loves Disney movies, and thinks a lot like me.

We have a long history of causing fun distraction during NaNoWriMo, and drinking until we sing all the Disney songs. Neither of us really believes in growing up. So of course, we’ll make the perfect pair for writing screenplay together. Across the country.

Together, we’ll keep this blog documenting our process. And, because we realize that the only way to see our movie actually become a Disney movie is to become internet famous.

Leave a Reply

